The nominations are in for the 2022 IFTA Irish Academy Awards

With all the challenges the industry is facing and in particular over the last 24 months, one thing that hasn’t changed is the quality of films coming out of the Irish scene. From festival favourites abroad, success and streaming and the return of audiences to our local screens, there are reasons for optimism in Irish film and the Irish Academy Awards from the Irish Film and Television Academy (IFTA) is a chance to celebrate the success stories from the last year of film. The nominations are out now for this year’s awards.

Over the past few months, Irish Academy Members have been busy viewing, deliberating, and shortlisting the very best work from across great Irish films, dramas, performances, and craftsmanship.

Nominations have been shortlisted by Irish Academy Members alongside specialist Jury panels of industry experts from around the world.

An Cailín Ciúin and Belfast top the table for 2022 with 10 nominations each.  Swan Song, You are Not My Mother and Who We Love each have 6 Nominationswhile Rachel Carey’s deadly comedy Deadly Cuts has 5. As new talent continues to emerge on our island, 4 of the 6 Best Films nominated are debut Feature Films – with An Cailín Ciúin, Deadly Cuts, Swan Song, and You are Not My Mother all marking the directorial Writer & Director from these talented new feature-filmmakers. 

“What a spectacular line-up of Nominees that have been shortlisted for Irish Academy Awards this year, after a record-breaking production year for the Irish industry.  The work being recognised this year showcases to the world what our talented industry has to offer.” 

“It’s an incredible reflection of the high calibre of Irish talent, filmmaking and storytelling that we have in this country, at world-class standards.  The Irish Academy is proud to acknowledge and reward their great achievements”.

Áine Moriarty, IFTA Chief Executive

The Irish Academy’s aim this year is to host both virtual & physical events.  A Virtual Awards event in March which will be followed by a Physical industry gathering in April, for the presentation of Awards in Dublin.

The Virtual IFTA Awards show will be hosted by Actress & Comedian Deirdre O’Kane and will be broadcast on Virgin Media One on Saturday, March 12th.  Deirdre will host a line-up of international Stars joining in to celebrate the exceptional Irish talent being recognised and to introduce the Nominees, films & dramas on the night.  Further details about the show and guests will be announced in the coming weeks.

The Academy will shortly announce details of the upcoming Physical Event taking place in April in Dublin, to celebrate the industry along with the Awards presentations, the venue, the guests and more.

Check out the full list of nominees for the 2022 IFTA Irish Academy Awards below:


An Cailín Ciúin


Deadly Cuts

Swan Song

Who We Love

You Are Not My Mother


Benjamin Cleary – Swan Song

Colm Bairéad – An Cailín Ciúin

Graham Cantwell – Who We Love

Kate Dolan  – You Are Not My Mother

Kenneth Branagh – Belfast


Kenneth Branagh – Belfast

Phlip Doherty – Redemption of a Rogue

Benjamin Cleary – Swan Song

Graham Cantwell & Katie McNeice – Who We Love

Kate Dolan – You Are Not My Mother


Aaron Monaghan – Redemption of a Rogue

Dónall Ó Héalai – Foscadh

Jude Hill – Belfast

Moe Dunford – Nightride

Peter Coonan – Doineann


Angeline Ball – Deadly Cuts

Catherine Clinch – An Cailín Ciúin

Gemma-Leah Devereux – The Bright Side

Hazel Doupe – You Are Not My Mother

Niamh Algar – Censor


Ciarán Hinds – Belfast

Cillian O Gairbhí – Foscadh

Dean Quinn – Who We Love

Jamie Dornan – Belfast

Tom Vaughan-Lawlor – The Bright Side


Amy-Joyce Hastings – Who We Love

Caitríona Balfe – Belfast

Carrie Crowley – An Cailín Ciúin

Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter

Ruth Negga – Passing


Castro’s Spies

Love Yourself Today


Pure Grit

The Dance

Young Plato


A White Horse

Best Foot Forward



Nothing to Declare


Ship of Souls


The Colour Between

The Passion



Da Humbug

Fall of the Ibis King

Memento Mori


Burschi Wojnar – Redemption of a Rogue

James Mather – Kin

Kate McCullough – An Cailín Ciúin

Narayan Van Maele – You Are Not My Mother

Peter Robertson – Vikings: Valhalla


Dermot Diskin – Kin

John Murphy – An Cailín Ciúin

Nathan Nugent – Swan Song

Tony Cranstoun – Zone 414

Úna Ní Dhonghaíle – Belfast


Derek Wallace – Kin

Emma Lowney – An Cailín Ciúin

Joe Fallover – Wolf

Tamara Conboy – Deadly Cuts

Tom Conroy – Vikings: Valhalla

About Luke Dunne

Luke is a writer, film addict and Dublin native who loves how much there is for film fans in his home county. A former writer for FilmFixx and the Freakin' Awesome Network, he founded Film In Dublin to pursue his dual dreams of writing about film and never sleeping ever again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *